New Program Administrator’s Workshop 2023

The Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs, the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists, and the AANA Education and Professional Development Division hosted the New Program Administrators’ Workshop March 17-18, 2023 in the Auditorium of O’Hare International Center, 10275 W. Higgins Road, Rosemont, IL.  

Thirty program directors and assistant program directors attended the workshop, during which they developed knowledge and skills needed to maintain leadership roles in their programs.  They took advantage of the opportunity to network and establish ties with their peers and compared similar issues among their programs.  Feedback from the attendees confirmed that the workshop was well organized and very beneficial.  The topics covered were:  Resources Available to Nurse Anesthesia Programs and Students; Certification; Accreditation Standards, Policies and Procedures; Self Study/Onsite Review; and Lessons Learned and Insight from “New” and “Experienced” Program Directors, presented by Jorge Valdes, DNP, CRNA, APRN, FAANA, and John O’Donnell, DrPH, MSN, RN, CRNA, CHSE, FSSH, FAANA, FAAN, respectively.

The workshop will be held again next year in the same location at a date still to be determined.  New program administrators and assistant administrators are encouraged to attend.  Please contact the COA at (224) 275-9130 for additional information.

Front row (left to right): Joseph Bailon, DNP, CRNA; Nicholas Curdt, DNAP, CRNA; Vicki Callan, PhD, CRNA, CHSE, FAANA; Christine Wittebort, DNAP, CRNA; Melody Vetica, DNP, CRNA

Second row (left to right): Francis Gerbasi, PhD, CRNA; Samantha Pratt, DNP, MSN, CRNA; Filomena Rugierro, DNP, CRNA, APRN ; Joshua Olson, DNP, CRNA ; Adrienne Hartgerink, DNP, CRNA, FAANA ; Carrie Bowman Dalley, PhD, CRNA ; Jennifer McPherson, DNP, CRNA, CHSE

Third row (left to right): Travis Chabo, PhD, CRNA; Cheryl Parker, DNP, CRNA, RNC-OB; Zohn Centimole, PhD, CRNA; Lena Dailey, EdD, CRNA; Amanda Bainbridge, DNP, CRNA; Shauna Rich Johnson, DNAP, CRNA; Elena Litmanovich, DNP, MS, CRNA; Chase Parrish, DNP, CRNA

Fourth row (left to right): Jessica Ann Phillips, PhD, CRNA; Catherine Hymel, DNP, CRNA; Crystal Campbell, DNAP, CRNA, APRN; Elisha Coppens, DNAP, MPharm, CRNA; CHSE; Linda McDonald, DNAP, CRNA; Carly Mitchell, DNP, CRNA, APRN; Edgardo Lugo Ruiz, DNP, CRNA

Fifth row (left to right): Angela Ciuca, PhD-c, DNAP, CRNA; Elena Meadows, DNP, MS, CRNA; Richard Flowers, DNP, CRNA, CHSE; Bernadette Johnson, DNAP, CRNA