Directors and Staff

Board Members

Council Officers

John O’Donnell, DrPH, MSN, RN, CRNA, CHSE, FSSH, FAANA , FAAN, President
CRNA Educator
University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing

Paul Austin, PhD, CRNA, Vice President
CRNA Educator
Texas Wesleyan University

Michael Fallacaro, PhD, CRNA, FAAN, FAANA, Treasurer
CRNA Educator
Virginia Commonwealth University

Council Directors

Rachel Davis, DNP, CRNA, CHSE
CRNA Educator
Baylor College of Medicine Doctor of Nursing

Claire Dixon-Lee, PhD, RHIA, CPH, FAHIMA
Public Member

Amanda D. Garcia, BSN, RN
Student Representative
Midwestern University College of Health Sciences Nurse Anesthesia Program

Juan Gonzalez, PhD, CRNA
CRNA Educator
University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies

Sarah B. Held, DNP, MBA, RN
Healthcare Administrator
M Health Fairview / Fairview Health System / HealthEast Care System

Terry Keller, PhD, LMSW, LISW, ACSW
University Administrator
Lourdes University

Dennis J. McKenna, DNAP, CRNA
CRNA Practitioner
Medical University Hospital

Julie Pearson, PhD, CRNA
CRNA Practitioner
CarolinaEast Health System

Eric S. Swirsky, JD, MA, MHPE
Public Member

Kelly Wiltse Nicely, PhD, CRNA, FAANA
CRNA Educator
Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Doctor of Nursing Practice Nurse Anesthesia

Chief Executive Officer

Francis Gerbasi, PhD, CRNA,
Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Gerbasi has served as the Chief Executive Officer for the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA) for 20 years. He is responsible for overseeing the accreditation of 130 graduate level nurse anesthesia programs located throughout the United States and Puerto Rico. He is a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist. He completed his undergraduate and graduate education at Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan. He has published numerous research studies, authored several chapters and a textbook for nurse anesthetists. In 2002 he received the John F. Garde Researcher of the Year Award by the American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology (AANA) Foundation. In 2022, the American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology (AANA) presented COA CEO Francis Gerbasi, PhD, CRNA, with the Agatha Hodgins Award during its 2022 Annual Congress, August 12-16 in Chicago.  The Agatha Hodgins Award for Outstanding Accomplishment was established in 1975 to recognize individuals whose foremost dedication to excellence has furthered the art and science of nurse anesthesia. 

Accreditation Specialists

Tom Anderson, MLIS, ​

Barbara Farkas, MAdEd,

Susan Monsen, MATD,

Molyka Leonard, MPA,

Kara Chlebek, MPA,

Accreditation Operations Manager

Liza Curiel, MNA,

Accreditation Operations Specialist

Susan Schneider,

Accreditation Finance Clerk

Chris Ramos,

Executive Assistant

Maria Kozicz,