Directors and Staff

Board Members

Council Officers

Paul Austin, PhD, CRNA, President
CRNA Educator
Texas Wesleyan University

Laura Bonanno, PhD, DNP, CRNA, Vice President
CRNA Educator
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center – School of Nursing

Michael Fallacaro, PhD, CRNA, FAAN, FAANA, Treasurer
CRNA Educator
Virginia Commonwealth University

Council Directors

Brian Andrew, JD
Public Representative

Judy Didion, PhD, RN
University Administrator
Oakland University

Claire Dixon-Lee, PhD, RHIA, CPH, FAHIMA
Public Member

Juan Gonzalez, PhD, CRNA
CRNA Educator
University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies

John O’Donnell, DrPH, MSN, CRNA, CHSE, FSSH
CRNA Educator
University of Pittsburgh

Sarah B. Held, DNP, MBA, RN
Healthcare Administrator
M Health Fairview / Fairview Health System / HealthEast Care System

Dennis J. McKenna, DNAP, CRNA
CRNA Practitioner
Medical University Hospital

Julie Pearson, PhD, CRNA
CRNA Practitioner
CarolinaEast Health System

Jerrol B. Wallace, DNP, MSN, CRNA, CDR, NC, USN
CRNA Educator
Uniformed Services Univesity of Health Sciences

Britni Tharp, BSN, RN, CCRN-CSC
Student Representative

Chief Executive Officer

Francis Gerbasi, PhD, CRNA, fgerbasi@coacrna.org
Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Gerbasi has served as the Chief Executive Officer for the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA) for 20 years. He is responsible for overseeing the accreditation of 130 graduate level nurse anesthesia programs located throughout the United States and Puerto Rico. He is a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist. He completed his undergraduate and graduate education at Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan. He has published numerous research studies, authored several chapters and a textbook for nurse anesthetists. In 2002 he received the John F. Garde Researcher of the Year Award by the American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology (AANA) Foundation.

Accreditation Specialists

Tom Anderson, MLIS, ​tanderson@coacrna.org

Barbara Farkas, MAdEd, bfarkas@coacrna.org

Susan Monsen, MATD, smonsen@coacrna.org

Molyka Leonard, MPA, mleonard@coacrna.org

Kara Chlebek, MPA, kchlebek@coacrna.org

Accreditation Operations Manager

Liza Curiel, MNA, lcuriel@coacrna.org

Accreditation Operations Specialist

Susan Schneider, sschneider@coacrna.org

Accreditation Finance Clerk

Chris Ramos, cramos@coacrna.org

Executive Assistant

Maria Kozicz, mkozicz@coacrna.org